Tag Archive: Kavieng


Earth Watch Report  -  Earthquakes

 photo PNG-4EQsMay15-172013_zpsb4c60d47.jpg

last 7 days

….

M5.0 – 21km ESE of Taron, Papua New Guinea

2013-05-15 10:58:42 UTC

Earthquake location 4.546°S, 153.212°E

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-15 10:58:42 UTC
  2. 2013-05-15 20:58:42 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-15 05:58:42 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

4.546°S 153.212°E depth=67.8km (42.1mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 21km (13mi) ESE of Taron, Papua New Guinea
  2. 107km (66mi) ESE of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
  3. 316km (196mi) NW of Arawa, Papua New Guinea
  4. 345km (214mi) SE of Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
  5. 858km (533mi) NE of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

….

M5.2 – 105km SSE of Angoram, Papua New Guinea

 2013-05-15 23:16:49 UTC

Earthquake location 4.873°S, 144.576°E

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-15 23:16:49 UTC
  2. 2013-05-16 09:16:49 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-15 18:16:49 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

4.873°S 144.576°E depth=68.2km (42.4mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 105km (65mi) SSE of Angoram, Papua New Guinea
  2. 115km (71mi) NNE of Mount Hagen, Papua New Guinea
  3. 140km (87mi) WNW of Madang, Papua New Guinea
  4. 161km (100mi) NW of Goroka, Papua New Guinea
  5. 581km (361mi) NNW of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

….

M5.4 – 118km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea

2013-05-17 08:32:39 UTC

Earthquake location 6.245°S, 154.412°E

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-17 08:32:39 UTC
  2. 2013-05-17 18:32:39 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-17 03:32:39 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

6.245°S 154.412°E depth=69.3km (43.0mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 118km (73mi) W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea
  2. 124km (77mi) W of Arawa, Papua New Guinea
  3. 317km (197mi) SE of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
  4. 478km (297mi) E of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
  5. 705km (438mi) WNW of Honiara, Solomon Islands

….

M4.8 – 41km ENE of Kandrian, Papua New Guinea

 2013-05-17 21:23:29 UTC

Earthquake location 6.134°S, 149.918°E

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-17 21:23:29 UTC
  2. 2013-05-18 07:23:29 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-17 16:23:29 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

6.134°S 149.918°E depth=65.8km (40.9mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 41km (25mi) ENE of Kandrian, Papua New Guinea
  2. 69km (43mi) SSW of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
  3. 326km (203mi) SW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
  4. 330km (205mi) E of Lae, Papua New Guinea
  5. 474km (295mi) NE of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

….

Tectonic Summary

Seismotectonics of the New Guinea Region and Vicinity

The Australia-Pacific plate boundary is over 4000 km long on the northern margin, from the Sunda (Java) trench in the west to the Solomon Islands in the east. The eastern section is over 2300 km long, extending west from northeast of the Australian continent and the Coral Sea until it intersects the east coast of Papua New Guinea. The boundary is dominated by the general northward subduction of the Australia plate.

Along the South Solomon trench, the Australia plate converges with the Pacific plate at a rate of approximately 95 mm/yr towards the east-northeast. Seismicity along the trench is dominantly related to subduction tectonics and large earthquakes are common: there have been 13 M7.5+ earthquakes recorded since 1900. On April 1, 2007, a M8.1 interplate megathrust earthquake occurred at the western end of the trench, generating a tsunami and killing at least 40 people. This was the third M8.1 megathrust event associated with this subduction zone in the past century; the other two occurred in 1939 and 1977.

Further east at the New Britain trench, the relative motions of several microplates surrounding the Australia-Pacific boundary, including north-south oriented seafloor spreading in the Woodlark Basin south of the Solomon Islands, maintain the general northward subduction of Australia-affiliated lithosphere beneath Pacific-affiliated lithosphere. Most of the large and great earthquakes east of New Guinea are related to this subduction; such earthquakes are particularly concentrated at the cusp of the trench south of New Ireland. 33 M7.5+ earthquakes have been recorded since 1900, including three shallow thrust fault M8.1 events in 1906, 1919, and 2007.

….

 Papua New Guinea – 2 Earthquakes Registered at 4.9 and 5.7 Magnitude,  May  14th , 2013.  Total of  6 Moderate EQ’s in the last 3 days

….

Papua New Guinea  -  4 Earthquakes Registered at 5.0 – 4.6 Magnitude  May  9th – 12th , 2013

….

About these ads

Earth Watch Report -  Earthquakes

PNG - 2 EQs  May 14th  2013 photo PNG-2EQsMay14th2013_zpsed903188.jpg

….

M4.9 140km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea 2013-05-14 20:21:43-05:00 

Earthquake location 5.488°S, 151.686°E

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-15 01:21:43 UTC
  2. 2013-05-15 11:21:43 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-14 20:21:43 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

5.488°S 151.686°E depth=41.9km (26.0mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 140km (87mi) SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
  2. 171km (106mi) E of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
  3. 336km (209mi) SSE of Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
  4. 433km (269mi) W of Arawa, Papua New Guinea
  5. 662km (411mi) NE of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

….

M5.7 26km WSW of Taron, Papua New Guinea 2013-05-14 22:36:02-05:00 

Earthquake location 4.580°S, 152.824°E

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-15 03:36:02 UTC
  2. 2013-05-15 13:36:02 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-14 22:36:02 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

4.580°S 152.824°E depth=69.1km (42.9mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 26km (16mi) WSW of Taron, Papua New Guinea
  2. 67km (42mi) ESE of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
  3. 316km (196mi) ENE of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
  4. 316km (196mi) SE of Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
  5. 823km (511mi) NE of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

….

Instrumental Intensity

ShakeMap Intensity Image

….

Tectonic Summary

Seismotectonics of the New Guinea Region and Vicinity

The Australia-Pacific plate boundary is over 4000 km long on the northern margin, from the Sunda (Java) trench in the west to the Solomon Islands in the east. The eastern section is over 2300 km long, extending west from northeast of the Australian continent and the Coral Sea until it intersects the east coast of Papua New Guinea. The boundary is dominated by the general northward subduction of the Australia plate.

Along the South Solomon trench, the Australia plate converges with the Pacific plate at a rate of approximately 95 mm/yr towards the east-northeast. Seismicity along the trench is dominantly related to subduction tectonics and large earthquakes are common: there have been 13 M7.5+ earthquakes recorded since 1900. On April 1, 2007, a M8.1 interplate megathrust earthquake occurred at the western end of the trench, generating a tsunami and killing at least 40 people. This was the third M8.1 megathrust event associated with this subduction zone in the past century; the other two occurred in 1939 and 1977.

Further east at the New Britain trench, the relative motions of several microplates surrounding the Australia-Pacific boundary, including north-south oriented seafloor spreading in the Woodlark Basin south of the Solomon Islands, maintain the general northward subduction of Australia-affiliated lithosphere beneath Pacific-affiliated lithosphere. Most of the large and great earthquakes east of New Guinea are related to this subduction; such earthquakes are particularly concentrated at the cusp of the trench south of New Ireland. 33 M7.5+ earthquakes have been recorded since 1900, including three shallow thrust fault M8.1 events in 1906, 1919, and 2007.

….

Papua New Guinea  -  4 Earthquakes Registered at 5.0 – 4.6 Magnitude  May  9th – 12th , 2013

….

Earth Watch Report  -  Earthquakes

 

 

Globe with Earthquake Location

6.0 Mwc – BISMARCK SEA

Preliminary Earthquake Report
Magnitude 6.0 Mwc
Date-Time
  • 29 Dec 2012 07:59:41 UTC
  • 29 Dec 2012 17:59:41 near epicenter
  • 29 Dec 2012 01:59:41 standard time in your timezone
Location 3.492S 148.832E
Depth 10 km
Distances
  • 240 km (149 miles) SE (133 degrees) of Lorengau, Manus Island, PNG
  • 242 km (150 miles) WSW (245 degrees) of Kavieng, New Ireland, PNG
  • 315 km (196 miles) NNW (346 degrees) of Kandrian, New Britain, PNG
  • 415 km (258 miles) NNE (29 degrees) of Lae, New Guinea, PNG
  • 688 km (428 miles) NNE (15 degrees) of PORT MORESBY, Papua New Guinea
Location Uncertainty Horizontal: 20.7 km; Vertical 2.7 km
Parameters Nph = 57; Dmin = 378.4 km; Rmss = 1.08 seconds; Gp = 73°
M-type = Mwc; Version = 3
Event ID us c000ehxl

For updates, maps, and technical information, see:
Event Page
or
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program

National Earthquake Information Center
U.S. Geological Survey
http://earthquake.usgs.gov/regional/neic/

Earth Watch Report  – Earthquakes

 

5.5 218km SE of Lorengau, Papua New Guinea 2012-12-29 07:59:15 3.353°S 148.722°E 10.2

M5.5 – 218km SE of Lorengau, Papua New Guinea 2012-12-29 07:59:15 UTC

Earthquake location 3.353°S, 148.722°E

Event Time

  1. 2012-12-29 07:59:15 UTC
  2. 2012-12-29 17:59:15 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2012-12-29 01:59:15 UTC-06:00 system time

Location

3.353°S 148.722°E depth=10.2km (6.4mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 218km (135mi) SE of Lorengau, Papua New Guinea
  2. 246km (153mi) WSW of Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
  3. 289km (180mi) NNW of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
  4. 385km (239mi) ENE of Madang, Papua New Guinea
  5. 694km (431mi) NNE of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

Related Links

 

 

 

Earth Watch Report  -  Earthquakes

M5.7 – 168km SE of Lorengau, Papua New Guinea 2012-11-15 08:21:49 UTC

 USGS

Earthquake location 3.250°S, 148.176°E

Event Time

  1. 2012-11-15 08:21:49 UTC
  2. 2012-11-15 18:21:49 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  3. 2012-11-15 02:21:49 UTC-06:00 system time

Location

3.250°S 148.176°E depth=9.9km (6.2mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 168km (104mi) SE of Lorengau, Papua New Guinea
  2. 300km (186mi) WSW of Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
  3. 335km (208mi) NW of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
  4. 342km (213mi) NE of Madang, Papua New Guinea
  5. 693km (431mi) N of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,571 other followers